March 06, 2007

2 in 1

( Launching in 2008, Superleague Formula (SF) will be a brand new, global Championship that connects two of the most popular sports in the world: football and motor racing.

At their heart, both sports offer fans action and drama; that is their engine, their attraction. By combining the two, we hope to create a unique blend of entertainment, passion, fair play and exhilaration – the beautiful race.

Superleague Formula will see 20 cars compete against one another in Year One – each one proudly wearing the colours of a major European or global football club. While none of the participating clubs will be required to contribute financially to the Championship, they will all be ‘in it to win it’, giving Superleague Formula their full support and backing. To get the ball rolling, we are proud to announce that the first clubs to pledge their commitment to participate in Superleague Formula are AC Milan, PSV Eindhoven, FC Porto and Olympiacos.
Over the next 12 months, we will reveal which other clubs will be taking part… but who would you like to see?

Having gained the official approval of the Federation lnternationale de l’Automobile (FIA) – the controlling body for international motorsport – Superleague Formula will see one car represent each football club, with all teams using identical cars and technologies.
As such, the emphasis will be firmly placed on each driver’s contribution, skill and ability – a showcase of man and technology that takes motor racing back to its essence.

In Year One, the Championship calendar will stretch from August to November 2008, with races at the top circuits in England, Spain, Germany, France, Belgium and Italy – all classic venues with real history and character.
In Year Two onwards, we want to expand gradually to a maximum of 17 races in future years to take the championship closer to all the club fans that are contesting the championship in Europe, South America and Asia.

+++ Check my travel photo sets at aibek_dunaev's Photo Sets on Flickriver


Anonymous Anonymous said...

Hello Aibek,
I came across your blog accidentally. I was amused to read some of your comments on things you saw in the Trinita dei Monti Church in Rome. I looked carefully at the picture you posted. It is funny to read the conclusions you made about certain Catholic symbols and pious gestures - the "Egyptian Cross," the "tinacria", the hexagonal star, and the knightly bow. You clearly have mistunderstood them, probably because you are not a Catholic yourself. I would like to quickly explain them to you.
What looks to be like an "Egyptian cross" on the altar table is actually what we call a Monstrance which holds the Blessed Sacrament, also known as the Eucharist or Host (its appears as a flat, white round waffer). Catholics believe it to be the Sacred Body and Blood, Soul and Divinity of Jesus Christ, once the Priest has consecrated it during the Mass. We bow in such a manner � �knightly� - because we are in the presence of Almighty God.
The Triangle is simply a symbol for the Trinity - the Christian Godhead who Jesus revealed to be One God in Three Persons: Father, Son (Jesus), and Holy Spirit. The eye in it, is simply a reminder of the All-seeing and knowing power of the Trinity. The hexagonal star is the "Star of David," a Jewish King in the Old Testament, hence a Jewish Symbol, which in a Catholic Church proclaims that Jesus Christ the fulfillment of the Hebrew scriptures and its prophets' anticipation of the Messiah.
I suggest that you seek out more information on the Trinity, Star of David, the Eucharist, Monstrance, and the Blessed Sacrament in a good encyclopedia or perhaps in the Catechism of the Catholic Church so that you might better understand its meaning and significance for Christians of the Catholic fold and therefore avoid any misunderstandings or misguided associations.

All the best,

June 20, 2008 8:29 PM  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home